About Us


The Kidney Transplant Collaborative (KTC) is a national non-profit advocacy organization based in Washington, DC that is dedicated to identifying forward-thinking policy solutions to increase kidney transplants and decreasing many of the obstacles and financial barriers to kidney transplantation for potential kidney transplant recipients and donors. Through its advocacy and grants funding efforts, KTC will work to improve the quality of life and survival rates for the tens of thousands of individuals with ESRD currently on kidney transplant waiting lists as well as donors, potential donors, and the families of all involved.



KTC has engaged experts with technical, clinical, and quality expertise from the renal and transplant community to serve on the Board of Directors and Expert Advisory Panel (EAP). The members of KTC’s Board and EAP play an important role in assessing the organization’s grant and policy priorities, as well as monitoring and closely tracking the outcomes of the grants selected.


Board of Directors

Louis H. Diamond MD (President & Chair)

Dr. Diamond is President and Chair of the Kidney Transplant Collaborative. He also serves on the Executive Committee for the Coalition for Supportive Care for Kidney Disease Patients and is an Ex-officio member of the Forum of ESRD Networks.

Read Bio

Nancy Armistead MPA

Nancy Armistead has 40 years of experience working in the federally-funded ESRD program. She previously served as Executive Director of the Mid-Atlantic Renal Coalition and as product lead for Quality Insights with responsibility for three CMS ESRD Network contracts.

Read Bio

Rebecca J. Schmidt DO, FACP, FASN

Dr. Schmidt is a nephrologist with 28 years of experience as a rural practitioner and patient and physician advocate, serving in a large academic group practice as a clinician, teacher, administrative leader, and dialysis medical director.

Read Bio

John C. Weinberg MD

Dr. Weinberg is an Associate Professor at Quinnipiac University School of Medicine, Hamden, Connecticut. He is a member of the American Medical Association, the American Society of Anesthesiology, and the New Haven County Medical Association.

Read Bio

Expert Advisory Panel

Thomas G. Peters MD, FACS, FASN (Chair)

Dr. Peters is Professor of Surgery, Emeritus, University of Florida College of Medicine and was founding Director of the Jacksonville Transplant Center at Methodist Medical Center.

Read Bio

Martha Gershun MBA

Gershun has over 35 years of leadership experience in Fortune 500 corporations, start-up ventures, and non-profit organizations.

Read Bio

Andrew Howard MD, FACP

Dr. Howard was past Chairman of the National Kidney Foundation of the National Capitol Area as well as Chairman of the Medical Review Board and member of the Board of Directors for ESRD Network 5.

Read Bio

Stephen Pastan MD

Dr. Pastan is Professor of Medicine at the Emory University School of Medicine and Medical Director of the kidney and pancreas transplant program at the Emory Transplant Center.

Read Bio

Michael Rees MD, PhD

Dr. Rees is the CEO of Rejuvenate Kidney Transplant Solutions, CEO of the Alliance for Paired Kidney Donation (APKD), and Professor/Surgical Director of Renal Transplantation at the University of Toledo Medical Center.

Read Bio

David White

Mr. White is a grateful recipient of a kidney transplant from a deceased donor. He serves on the Board of Directors of the Kidney Health Initiative and the Patient Advocate Foundation and chairs the Kidney Health Initiative Patient and Family Partnership Council.

Read Bio

Consultant Leadership

David Farber Policy Counsel & Lobbyist

Partner, King & Spalding

Susan Murdock Program Director


Roey Ahram, Ph.D. Grants Administrator